The Order management screen provides an overview of all open orders and lets you manage fulfillment from one place. Orders are organized by when they are due, so it's easier to prioritize what needs attention during service. You can view individual order statuses, merge or split orders, and customize fulfilment settings for your venue.
If you're using the previous Order management screen, you'll be prompted to try the new experience. During the introduction phase, you can switch between the new and previous screens at any time. The previous Order management screen will eventually be replaced by the new experience.
What's in this guide?
Understanding the order list view
Creating a custom order list view
Managing orders
Merging or splitting orders
Understanding the order list view
The Order management screen displays incoming and active orders in the main order list. Orders are organized into different views and urgency groups, so it's easier to prioritize and manage individual orders.
Sidebar navigation
Use the sidebar navigation to switch between different order views. All orders and Ready are the available views by default. You can select + Add view to create and manage additional custom views using filters that match your venue's workflow.
Urgency groups
Orders are automatically grouped based on their due time:
- New order just arrived: Alerts you when new orders arrive and require attention. If Pass-Thru Printing is disabled, you'll be prompted to manually accept or reject the order.
- Overdue: Shows orders that have passed their due time.
- Due soon: Shows orders due within the next 10 minutes.
- On track: Shows orders due more than 10 minutes away. Orders without a pickup time, such as walk-in POS orders, also appear at the bottom of this group.
The order list displays relevant information for each order. This makes important details easy to find and review at a glance.
| Column | Description |
| Due | The time remaining or overdue status along with the order's target completion time. |
| Customer | The customer's name and contact number associated with the order. |
| Order | The order source, order number, and fulfillment method such Pickup, Takeaway, or Delivery. |
| Items | The total number of items included in the order. |
| Status | The current fulfillment stage of the order, such as New, Staging, Boxing, or Ready. This automatically updates as staff manually advance the order through service. |
Configuring the order management screen settings
Customizing your order screen settings allow you to create your own custom views, edit order statuses, and set rules for closing your completed orders.
Creating a custom order list view
Custom order list views allow you to organize orders based on the criteria that matter most to your venue. You can choose specific filters to create a view tailored to your team's workflow, allowing you to focus on the orders you need to manage.
To create a custom order list view:
- On the POS, tap Orders.
- From the navigation menu, select + Add view.
- In the New view popup, complete the following fields:
- View name: Enter a name for your custom order list view.
-
View position: Choose where the custom view should appear in the sidebar navigation.
- After creating a new view, select Configure from the lower-left menu.
- Under Filter, select specific criteria to determine which orders display in this view:
- Status: Select one or more fulfillment stages, such as New, Boxing, Staging, or Ready.
- Order type: Filter orders by fulfillment method, such as Pickup, Delivery, Dine in, or Kiosk.
- Channel: Select order channels such as POS, Online or both.
- Date: Select a timeframe to filter the orders shown.
- Under Columns, check or uncheck fields for Customer, Order, Items, and Status, to control which information appears on your custom order list screen.
- (Optional) To change the column order, drag and drop the columns into your preferred position. The Due column appears first by default and cannot be moved or removed.
- Once you're finished, tap Save changes.
To delete a custom view, select the custom list view you want to remove, then tap Delete view.
Customizing workflow statuses
You can customize fulfillment stages to match your kitchen or service team's workflow. Default required stages, such as New and Ready, are locked and cannot be removed.
To customize workflow statuses:
- On the POS Order management screen, select Configure > Workflow statuses.
- Tap Add custom status.
- Enter a name in the Status name field.
- Select where the new status should appear in the list of your workflow. Statuses follow the order of the workflow, so make sure you set it to the correct status order.
- Select Add new status.
- (Optional) Drag the handle icon to reorder the statuses, select the pencil (Edit) icon to rename a custom status, or select the Trash (Delete) icon to remove it.
- Once you're finished, tap Save changes.
Configuring automatic order closure
For online orders, you can configure when completed orders are automatically closed on the POS. It's recommended to configure automatic order closure for completed online orders to help prevent order buildup and maintain POS performance.
To configure automatic order closure:
- On the POS Order management screen, select Configure > Close orders.
- Select your preferred order closure behavior for your online orders:
- Manual only: Staff must manually mark each order as Done. Orders are automatically closed after 7 days if not closed manually.
- Complete orders when marked Ready: Orders automatically close as soon as they are marked Ready.
- Delay the completion of orders: Orders automatically close after a specified period once they are marked Ready. Select a delay time of 15 minutes, 30 minutes, or End of day.
- Select Save changes to apply your settings.
Managing orders
You can view order details and update an order's fulfillment status as it progresses. By default, New and Ready are the permanent fulfillment stages. You can also create custom fulfillment stages, such as Boxing or Staging depending on your venue's workflow.
For online orders, staff must manually accept or reject an order on the POS if Pass-Thru Printing (PTP) is disabled. If PTP is enabled, orders are automatically added to the order list with the updated due time.
To manage an order:
- Use the Search orders bar at the top of the screen, or select an order list view to locate the order.
- Select the order to access its details.
- (Optional) If prompted, accept or reject the order. This depends whether PTP is enabled or disabled for your site. Select Accept order to begin processing the order or Reject order to decline it.
- Tap on the order and select Update status to move the order to the next available fulfillment stage in your workflow. Continue updating the status as the order progresses and reaches the final Ready stage.
Merging or splitting orders
You can merge or split orders directly from the Order management screen. This helps you manage active orders by combining related orders, moving specific items between orders, or separating items into a new order.
Merging orders
Merging allows you to move selected items or an entire order to another active order. You can consolidate related orders or correct items that were added to the wrong order.
To merge an order:
- On the POS Order management screen, tap Merge.
- Select the first order you want to merge from the order list.
- Select the second order you want to merge the items into.
- Select the specific items you want to merge to the second order, or tap Merge All to move the entire order.
Splitting orders
Splitting allows you to move selected items from an existing order into a new order. This is helpful when items need to be separated into a different order, such as when customers want to pay separately.
To split an order:
- On the POS Order management screen, tap Split.
- Select the items you want to move to the new order.
- Tap Split Order.
What's next?
Learn how to process a sale on the POS.
Process refunds for completed sales on the POS.